Oh, the turkey soup ran out, so yesterday I made a pot of beef soup. It is dee-licious and helps my congestion and sore throat enormously. Unfortunately, Twinkle Toes has been on a sleepless bent, and no matter how much soup I consume, I don’t think I can overcome this cold at the current rate of 2 or 3 hours of broken sleep a night! Help!

Twinkle Toes, the baby who slept through the night at only a few weeks old, and was consistently good about sleeping, even putting herself to sleep, now wakes up every hour or two. Sigh.

Oh, first I thought it was the diapers were too small, and so I went up to the next size prefolds hoping more absorbency = less wetness = less wakeups. But no, then Twinkle Toes got some teeth, and teething pain kept her up and nursing. Somehow, I think she got into the very bad habit during that time of only sleeping if one of my nipples was in her mouth. Invariably, milk would let down and she would drink, but not because she was thirsty. This meant more peeing, more wet diapers and also waking up with burps… vicious cycle!

Now with this cold of hers-ours, she’s stuffy, but she also seems to have two more teeth coming in. … and I am one tired mom.

I can’t fight a cold if I’m exhausted! I’m using saline spray to ease the congestion, hompeopathic throat spray, herbal teas, this fab beef soup, zinc and vitamin D supplements, coconut oil on poor chapped lips and nose… But what a world of good it would do if baby would let me sleep.

*sigh*

Any ideas on how to get Twinkle Toes to sleep longer on her own? Just plain encouragement would be good, too!

I’m opposed to crying it out, but have tried “crying in arms” with varying degrees of success. I’ve had Rupert go in and rub her back or rock her back to sleep to break the milk habit, but although he often manages to get her back to sleep, it usually isn’t for long. An hour later, she’s up again. Last night was particularly rough, and still no signs of a nap on the horizon this morning .

